Aaen: v:daSc:tv:arH m:im:as:a ny:ay:ev:st:rH .
p:raN: D:m: S:as*: c: ev:a t:aSc:t:dS: ..

The above verse states that there are 14 domains of knowledge. These areas are considered to be all-encompassing and give an explanation for all the events that occur around us. These are the Vedas (Rigveda, Samaveda, Yajurveda and Atharvaveda ), Meemamsa  (a discussion on the vedas), Nyaya    (logic), Puranas ( of which there are 18 ), Itihasa ( the Ramayana and the Mahabharata).

The Vedas themselves have 6 angas or parts. These are Shiksha (the pronunciation of the Vedas), Chandas   (prosody), Vyakaranam (grammar), Jyotisham  ( astronomy), Niruktam   (the meanings of words) and Kalpa  (the rules for the performance of rituals).

Out of the above 14 topics, we cover five, these being


Back      Bibliography